Information For Candidates

Disclaimer: The following links and resources pertain to candidates for the City of Westminster Mayor or City Council Member. If you are interested in running for office for another agency or board, please contact the elections official for that agency or board directly.

START HERE: Your Guide to Running for Elected Office

Candidate Eligibility
Candidates must be residents and registered voters of the City of Westminster at the time nomination papers are issued. Confirmation of candidate registration status is completed in conjunction with the Registrar of Voters office.
The nomination period closed on August 12, 2016.

Elected Official Compensation
Pursuant to
Section 2.040.080 of the Westminster Municipal Code, elected official compensation is currently in the amount of $955.50 per month for the Office of Mayor and $850.50 per month for Council Members.

Term Limits/Campaign Contributions
Currently, the City of Westminster does not impose term limits, and candidates follow state law regarding the campaign contribution requirements.

City Council Meetings
Pursuant to
Section 2.04.010 of the Westminster Municipal Code, there are two regular meetings of the City Council held on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. City Council meetings are televised live on local access channels and streamed live (and archived) on the City’s website.

City Hall Hours of Operation
City Hall is open Monday through Thursday from 7:30 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. and closed every other Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Click here to view calendar.

Current Westminster City Council
Mayor Tri Ta (two-year term expiring in 2016)
    -Mayor Pro Tem Sergio Contreras (four-year term expiring in 2016)
    -Council Member Diana Lee Carey (four-year term expiring in 2016)
    -Council Member Tyler Diep (four-year term expiring in 2018)
    -Council Member Margie L. Rice (four-year term expiring in 2018)