PSU FAQs

What time is the Police Department open?

The Westminster Police Department provides emergency services twenty four (24) hours.  Call 9-1-1 for emergencies.

Westminster Police Department
8200 Westminster Blvd., Bldg, 5
Westminster, CA 92683

Monday - Friday
8:00am-5:00pm
Closed weekends and holiday
s

Our business service counter provides a variety of functions including:

  • Reporting crimes (emergency and non emergency)
  • Copies of reports
  • Subpoenas services for records or officers
  • Citizen complaints
  • Vehicle Releases
  • Parking citation payments

How can I obtain a copy of a Police report?

Copies of crime and incident reports are available for purchase provided you are involved in the case.  You may come to the Police Department to request your report or mail a request to the Records Bureau.  As a courtesy, we provide the "Request for Release of Record" form to aide us in helping you locate and identify the report faster. We have made this form available for download to bring with you to the Police Department.

If you request your report by mail, you will need to send a written request with your case number or as much information as you have to determine which report you are requesting.  It is important to note that we will not mail your request back as we are required to verify your identity  with a valid photo identification before releasing a report. You will be called when your report is available for pick up.

In order to determine the price of your report, you may call the Records Bureau at (714) 548-3218.  The price per page is $.30, and the average length of a report can is1 to 10 pages long.  We recommend having, at least, $10 dollars handy to cover the cost of a report. We do accept Visa and Mastercard.

If you choose to come to the police station to pick up a copy of your report, you will need to bring a driver's license, identification card, or a recent copy of your passport. 

Some reports take approximately 10-14 days so it is highly encouraged to call the Records Bureau to check on the availability of your report at least two weeks before you need it.   Same day service is not always available due to the necessary steps to review the case and, potentially, redact the case from information that may not be eligible for release.

In accordance with the California Public Records Act, some reports are not releasable and your request may need to be reviewed by the Records Bureau.  Our Records Bureau Specialists have ten (10) business days to determine if and when a report can be released.  You will be informed by telephone or mail if we are unable to release the report. 

How can I obtain a copy of my entire criminal record?

Access to criminal history summary records maintained by the California Department of Justice is restricted by law to legitimate law enforcement purposes and authorized Applicant Agencies.  Individuals have the right to request a copy of their own criminal history record from the department to review the information for accuracy and completeness. Requests from third parties are not authorized and cannot be honored by the department. If you would like to review the accuracy and completeness of your own criminal history record follow the instructions listed on the Attorney General’s website.

How can I obtain a copy of my arrest report?

If you were arrested by the Westminster Police Department, you can obtain a copy of the arrest report only after your case has been adjudicated.  Prior to adjudication, you must contact the District Attorney’s Office for a copy.  Some arrest records may contain information that cannot be released or may need to be redacted.  If your report falls under this category, we will inform you at the time of the request what information we can provide you. 

A car alarm is driving me crazy.

If a car alarm is sounding continually, call the police department at (714) 898-3315, ext 326, to report it.

How can I find out why my vehicle was towed, where it is and how I get it back?

Please call with your license plate number or your vehicle identification number.  If you cannot locate that information, please be prepared to tell us the date, time and location your car was towed from.  If your car was towed by a private party, we will inform you of the name of the tow company, the address if known, and a phone number to contact.  If your vehicle was towed for police business, we will inform you of the reason for the car tow and present you with the pertinent information.   

In order to receive a vehicle release, you must present a current, valid driver's license and current registration.  If you do not have a valid driver's license you must bring someone with you who does.  You must be the registered owner or have authorization from the registered owner to obtain a release.   

If your car was impounded pursuant to California Vehicle Code Section 14602.6 (driving while his/her license has been suspended, revoked or without ever having been issued a CDL), your car has been impounded for 30 days.  You have a right to a hearing to determine the validity of the impound.  You must respond in writing, by phone, or in person to schedule a hearing within 10 days of the date of your notice.  Once your vehicle is scheduled for release, you will need all pertinent DMV paperwork and current automobile insurance.  For further information regarding your impound, please call the Trafficking & Parking Enforcement Unit at (714) 548-3220 or 714 548-3833.

How can I get a civil harassment restraining order?

If you are a victim of harassment you may go to the West Justice Center to obtain a restraining order.  The address is 8141 13th Street, Westminster, CA 92683.  The phone number is (714) 896-7188.

How can I get a restraining order if I am a domestic violence victim?

If you are a victim of domestic violence you will need to go to the Lamoreaux Justice Center to obtain a restraining order.  The address is 341 The City Drive, #C705, Orange, CA 92668.  The Restraining Order Info telephone line is (714) 973-0134.  You may also contact CSP, Domestic Violence Assistance Program for assistance (714) 935-7956.

You will need to plan on spending most of the day at the courthouse preparing the applications, attending the hearing, and obtaining the orders and copies for service.  The process can be done on Monday-Friday and should be started before 9:30am.  Included are links to the Orange County Court system with more information on domestic violence restraining orders.

How can I get a workplace restraining order?

If you are a victim of harassment you may go to the West Justice Center to obtain a restraining order.  The address is 8141 13th Street, Westminster, CA 92683.  The phone number is (714) 896-7188.

How can I obtain property from a vehicle that was towed when I am not the registered owner?

There are two methods of receiving property from a vehicle if you are not the registered owner. 

1.You may contact the owner and have the owner come to the Police Department to sign a release for permission to retrieve property from the vehicle.   

2.If the owner is unable to come to the Police Department, you may have the owner prepare a letter authorizing you to remove your property from the vehicle. 

A list of your property you are trying to retrieve needs to be listed in the letter.  Have the owner include a copy of their driver’s license or California identification with the letter. There is no fee for this service.

How do I contest my parking citation?

If you received a parking citation issued by the Westminster Police Department and believe it was issued in error, you may request an Initial Administrative Review of the citation. 

You must contest your citation within the first twenty one (21) calendar days following its issuance by requesting the review form in person or in writing. 

Review forms are available at the Westminster Police Department front counter or can be downloaded at:
Pay My Citation.

When contesting a parking citation, please remember to include your citation number, vehicle license number and all relevant information you believe supports your case, including copies of supporting documents and any photographs (not returned).

 Written requests for review should be mailed to the processing center at:

                        City of Westminster
                        P.O. Box 11923
                        Santa Ana, CA 92711

Results of the Initial Review will be mailed within approximately 45 days.  If you are contesting a citation, there is no payment necessary until a final Notice of Decision has been made on your citation. 

If you have any questions, please telephone the Citation Processing Center at 1-800-781-7241.

How do I get my juvenile arrest record sealed?

Welfare and Institutions Code Section 781 permits persons who acquired records as juveniles to petition the juvenile court to have those records sealed.  Information and documents to initiate this record sealing process are available from the Orange County Probation Department.  You may call (714) 569-2000 to receive more information.

How do I know if Police work is right for me?

Law enforcement is a unique and challenging career choice. This job is not for everyone. It is NOT a job you simply "try out." If you have never researched police work before and know nothing about law enforcement, we highly recommend you take a detailed look into what we really do, how we do things and what it takes to do them.  Prior to beginning any career in law enforcement you are required to complete a 6 month police academy, like the Academies offered at Goldenwest College  and Rio Hondo Junior College.  Ask about the pre-academy courses.

How do I obtain a “clearance letter” to show that I do not have a criminal record?

You must be a resident or at one time resided in the City of Westminster.  You may come to the front counter at the Police Department and present a valid form of photo identification (Drivers License, California Identification, or a passport with a fairly recent photo).  A record check of our computer system will be conducted to determine if you have been arrested by our Police Department.  Copies of our arrest records only go back to 1997 unless the individual was arrested for retainable felony cases.  All other records have been purged and cannot be substantiated with documentation.   We will provide you with a letter regarding your criminal history status in our city.

How do I obtain a copy of a juvenile arrest record?

Orange County Juvenile Court limits access to juvenile court records in accordance with T.N.G. v Superior Court (1971) 4 C3d 767, 94 CR 813, and Welfare and Institution Code Section 827.  Certain reports may be obtained at the Police Department if you are the minor or parents/guardian of the juvenile.  If we are unable to release the report, we will provide you with a form to petition the Orange County Juvenile Court or you may obtain the form from the Juvenile Court, 341 City Drive, P.O. Box 14169, Orange, CA 92613, (714) 935-7000.  

The completed petition can be mailed to the above address or delivered to Juvenile Court Reception on the second floor of the Lamoreaux Justice Center. The Juvenile Court does not accept petitions via facsimile.  After reviewing the petition, the Presiding Judge of Juvenile Court will either grant or deny the request. A certified copy of the petition is then returned by mail to the petitioner if the petition is granted.

How do I obtain a parking permit?

The City of Westminster does not issue parking permits at the present time.

How do I request an Administrative Hearing?

If you are dissatisfied with the results of the Initial Administrative Review you may request an Administrative Hearing of the violation no later than twenty one (21) calendar days following the mailing of the results of the Initial Review.  The request must be accompanied with a deposit in the amount of the parking penalty.  Checks/Money Orders should be made payable to the "City of Westminster" and include the citation number and the vehicle license number.  Do not send cash in the mail.

If you are unable to deposit the parking penalty, you must provide written proof of your inability to pay the amount due. 

You may request an "Application for Financial Evaluation" form by calling 1-800-781-7241.

Please include two (2) copies of the first two pages of the most recent year's tax returns with your application.

Administrative Hearings can be conducted either in person or by mail.  You will be notified of your hearing date and time, should you choose to appear in person. 

To schedule an Administrative Hearing, call the Processing Center at 1-800-781-7241

If no Administrative Hearing is requested, the results of the Initial Review become final 21 calendar days following the mailing of the results of the Initial Review.  Failure to appear at your Administrative Hearing will result in fine forfeiture.

How do I start the process?

All qualified applicants are welcome to apply, however, we are not always hiring. Availability depends upon vacancies for the position of Police Officer. If there is no vacancy for the position you desire, you may e-mail a resume to psu@Westminster-CA.gov.  We will contact the most desirable applicants when the next testing process begins.

If you have any questions, please contact Officer Rachel Archambault at (714) 548-3771.

How to file an appeal in Superior Court?

Within 30 calendar days after the mailing of the final decision of the Administrative Hearing, the contestant may seek review by filing an appeal with the West Justice Center at 8141 13th St, Westminster, California, per CVC 40230(a).  The West Justice Center will require a $25.00 filing fee for the appeal.

I am the victim in a pending criminal case, and want to know if the defendant has been released from jail.

The VINE Program is probably your best source of information.  VINE stands for Victim Information and Notification Everyday, and is a free and anonymous service providing victims of crime with information and notification of the custody status of offenders in Orange County Jail.  VINE is updated every 15 minutes.

In order to use this service, VINE  requires the victim to register by  calling a telephone number to create a 4 digit Personal ID Number (PIN).  After registering, the victim then provides  the offender's name (or alias) and the case number (or booking number) to receive the latest information. Call 1-800-721-8021 to use VINE today!

I have been ordered by the court to be booked, what is the process?

Court ordered booking is done by appointment only.  To make arrangements, contact the Records Bureau by calling (714) 548-3218 and make an appointment for a "court ordered booking." 

You will be asked pertinent information. Please have your court paperwork handy when speaking to the Records Specialist.   You will be required to bring the court ordered paperwork with you, as well as a valid identification so that it can be signed off and processed per court requirements. 

I have information about a crime.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the police department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I have information regarding an arson.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the Police Department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I have a complaint regarding a police officer's behavior.

Complaints against police department personnel may be reported one of three ways:  1) over the telephone with the Watch Commander or other on-duty supervisor,  2) in person with a supervisor, either at the police department or a designated site in the field, or  3) in written form via the mail, addressed to the Westminster Police Department.  Although it is important for us to know who is reporting circumstances, anonymous complaints are also accepted.

Westminster Police Department
8200 Westminster Blvd. Westminster, CA 92683
(714) 898-3315

Business Lobby Hours:
Monday - Friday (8:00 am - 5:00 pm)

I need directions to the Police Department

We are located between the 405 and 22 Fwys.  The following are directions for both freeways:

From the 405 South, exit Beach Blvd (SR-39) by following the ramp on the right.  Proceed north until 13th street, turn right.  Follow the street and turn left at the stop sign.  The police department will be on your left hand-side.  You may park in the Visitor Parking Spaces ONLY.  If there are no spaces left, park in the court parking lot located directly south of the Vietnam Memorial.

From the 405 North, exit Beach Blvd (SR-39) and proceed to the light.  Turn right at the light and then left at Beach Blvd.  Proceed north until 13th street, turn right.  Follow the street and turn left at the stop sign.  The police department will be on your left hand-side.  You may park in the Visitor Parking Spaces ONLY.  If there are no spaces left, park in the court parking lot located directly south of the Vietnam Memorial.

From the 22 East, exit Beach Blvd (SR-39) by following the ramp on the right.  Proceed south until Westminster Blvd, turn left.  All American Way is the next light, turn right.  The police department will be the second building on the right hand-side.  You may park in the Visitor Parking Spaces ONLY.  If there are no spaces left, park in the court parking lot located directly south of the Vietnam Memorial.

From the 22 West, exit Beach Blvd (SR-39) by following the ramp on the left.  Proceed south until Westminster Blvd, turn left.  All American Way is the next light, turn right.  The police department will be the second building on the right hand-side.  You may park in the Visitor Parking Spaces ONLY.  If there are no spaces left, park in the court parking lot located directly south of the Vietnam Memorial.

8200 Westminster Blvd.

Westminster
CA 92683

I need help with a traffic ticket.

If you have general questions about the content of your traffic ticket, you may either stop by the Westminster Police Department, or call them at (714) 898-3315.

I want to complain about a car blocking my driveway.

If a car is blocking your driveway, call the police department at (714) 898-3315.  An officer will be dispatched.

I want to complain about speeding traffic in my neighborhood.

Please contact Westminster Police Department at (714) 898-3315, or Traffic Engineer at (714) 548-3462.

I want to notify someone about gang activity.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the police department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to report a burglary.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the police department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to report a child in danger.

If the child is in immediate danger, please call 911.  If you suspect that a child is being neglected or abused, you should call the Child Abuse Registry at (800) 207-4464.

I want to report a city vehicle driven recklessly.

To report a city vehicle being driven recklessly, you may call the Westminster Police Department at (714) 898-3315. To assist us in identifying the proper city department, please try to obtain any identifying information on the vehicle and driver, so we may forward the report to the appropriate city department.

I want to report a hate crime.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the police department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to report an abandoned vehicle.

You may report an abandoned vehicle to the police department at (714) 898-3315.  The police department will dispatch an officer who will evaluate the situation and mark the vehicle.  If the vehicle has not been moved for 72 hours after it has been marked, the Traffic Bureau will tow the vehicle. 

Code Enforcement PSA Video - Inoperable Vehicles

I want to report child abuse.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the Police Department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to report cruelty to animals.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the Police Department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to report drug dealing.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the police department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to report elder abuse.

If the Senior is in immediate danger please call 911.  If you suspect that a Senior is being neglected or abused, you should call Adult Protective Service at (800) 451-5155.

I want to report graffiti at a location.

Please contact the Graffiti Hotline at (714) 548-3253 or submit a report using the free My Westminster mobile app.

I want to report spousal abuse.

If you have information about illegal activity in progress that constitutes an immediate threat to someone's physical safety or property, contact the emergency number of the police department (911).  Otherwise, if you have information about a crime that has occurred in the City of Westminster, then contact the Police Department via our business line (714-898-3315) to report the information you have.

I want to start or join a neighborhood watch program.

Please contact our Public Service Officer in charge of Crime Prevention at 714-898-3315, extension 590, for information regarding our Neighborhood Watch program.

I would like a car towed from my property.

If your property is of a commercial nature and is properly posted, you may call a tow company for a private property impound.  If the vehicle is on private property, such as a single family residence, the property owner may have the vehicle towed away after notification to the local traffic law enforcement agency, per California Vehicle Code 22658(a).  Any charges arising from the tow may be recovered through civil means from the registered owner of the vehicle.

I need help with my car registration.

You may get help with your car registration through your local California Department of Motor Vehicles. https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv

I want to contest a traffic ticket. 

If you wish to dispute a traffic citation, you must contact the West Justice Center and request a court trial.

Is the Parking Citation System secure?

This site uses a 128-bit encryption, which is the standard level of encryption for government services.  This is the same security used on all web payment applications.  This site does not store any information about your credit card.  Once an approval or rejection is received, the information is purged from our system.

What could disqualify me from becoming a police officer?

  • Felony conviction(s)-disqualification
  • Misdemeanor conviction(s)
  • Illegal drug usage
  • Job termination
  • Dishonesty
  • Financial Irresponsibility
  • All variables are subject to review and based upon the successful completion of a thorough background investigation.

What does it take to become a police officer?

  • Meet the minimum Police Officer Standards & Training (POST)Requirements.
  • Successfully complete a background investigation.
  • Communicate effectively verbally and in writing.
  • A high school diploma or the G.E.D. equivalent (college is preferred).
  • A valid California driver’s license.
  • 21 years of age or older.
  • Must be a U.S. citizen.
  • Vision 20/80 uncorrected; 20/20 corrected (color vision and hearing must be normal).
  • Good physical conditioning, height and weight proportional; occasionally requires extraordinary physical activity, for example: running, climbing, pushing, pulling, carrying and lifting objects.

What does the hiring process involve?

Total commitment and determination are needed to initiate and complete the hiring process for interested applicants. Our hiring practice is thorough and we ask our applicants to understand we need them to commit to the process 100%.

You will be involved in an intense background investigation. There will be detailed and confidential information asked of you regarding your criminal history, illegal drug usage, personal finances, medical history, schooling, job history, including personal and job references, prior room mates, current and former spouses, landlords, current and past neighbors and many other resources helpful in determining moral character.

You will be subject to a polygraph examination, written and oral psychological examinations, a medical examination, oral interviews and a variety of requests for specific documentation and information in order to complete the hiring process.

What does the Parking Citation System allow me to do?

The parking citation system allows you to perform web inquiries and to pay your parking citation online.  Your citation number can be located on the original ticket or on the Reminder Notice received in the mail.  The online parking citation system can also be accessed through this link: Pay My Citation.

The system will assist you through the process.

What if I don't have my citation number?

For the security of your personal information, the new online parking citation  processing center will allow you to search by citation number or license plate.  If you have additional questions, you may call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-781-7241.

What if I get a message the system is not available?

If you should receive a message the system is unavailable for accepting payments it should be available within one or two hours, or you can call Customer Service at 1-800-781-7241.  Sometimes the site may not be available for processing.

What is the street sweeping schedule for my neighborhood?

The days and times for street sweeping are posted at the entrance to each residential area off the main streets.  You may also contact the City of Westminster Corporation Yard at (714) 895-2876.  See the  link below for a map showing the days for street sweeping throughout the city.

Where can I get my bicycle licensed?

Our Police Explorers will license your bicycle the first and third Tuesday of each month from 5:00-6:00 PM.  There is a $10 fee for the registration. Please contact WPD Records at 714-898-3315 to confirm the explorers will be there if you plan on coming in for licensing.

Where do I find the rules about parking in the city?

The rules about parking in the City of Westminster may be found online  under Municipal Codes.  Parking regulations may also be found in the California Vehicle Code at www.dmv.ca.gov.

Where do I get a handicapped parking permit?

To obtain a handicapped parking placard, you must contact your local California Department of Motor Vehicles. https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv

Where do I renew my driving license?

You may renew your driving license at your local California Department of Motor Vehicles. https://www.dmv.ca.gov/portal/dmv

Who do I contact about noisy neighbors?

There are laws in place regarding loud and unreasonable noise, and intentionally disturbing another person's peace. Generally, complaints of this nature should not be called in via the 911 system. Instead, call the police department business line (714-898-3315) and report the situation so the proper response can be determined.

Why does more than one citation show?  Do I have to pay them all?

If other citations exist on the same vehicle (same license plate, same owner) as the primary citation, they will be displayed as a courtesy.  You may elect to pay any or all of the parking citations by clicking the box next to each citation you want to pay.

Why isn't my parking citation in the system?

If your citation was just issued, it is possible it has not been entered into the database yet.  Usually tickets issued by Parking Enforcement Officers are entered into the database within 24 hours.  These citations are computer generated.  Handwritten parking citations are also written by Parking Enforcement Officers and Police Officers.  The citation issued is the payment envelope. These citations can take up to one week to be entered into the database.  If your citation is not in the system, call Customer Service at 1-800-781-7241.

Who should I contact about a broken/damaged/falling fence?

Please contact the Code Enforcement Division at (714) 548-3246 or submit a report using the My Westminster mobile app. You can download the MyWestminster mobile app for free in the App Store for iPhone and in the Google Play Store for Android.